top of page
Image by Jake Colling

NBA Council

Our Council is responsible for overseeing our Association life. They are the the trustees and directors of the Association. 

Churches are invited to nominate members to Council on their statistical returns each year by the date stated on the returns


The Council is led by the Moderator Mairi McBain who occasionally attends staff team meeting.  

The Moderator is elected in line with our Bye-Laws: 7.1 Council shall elect by ballot from its membership a Moderator to serve for the rest of the person’s term on the Council. The Moderator elected may serve for a maximum of six consecutive years. Following a break of one year the person will be eligible for re-election.

Council members serve for three years term and then are eligible for re-election; they are only allowed to serve two terms. consecutively.

The Council can have up to 12 members with seven co-opted members; four of the co-opted members are there to provide balance of lay, ordained, experience, age, gender, and ethnic origin, and the church size and geographic location of the member churches.

Three members can be co-opted onto council to represent the NBA at the Baptist Together Council (currently these roles are done by current council members.)  Co-opted members serve for one year and then are eligible for further co-option.

The Treasurer, Baptist Missionary Society (BMS) representative and Home Mission representative are nominated by Council, and appointed annually at the Annual General Meeting.

You can read our 2022 Annual Report Here 

The Council Members are:

Mairi ID photo.jpg

Mr Gavin Monument: Treasurer  

Member of Billingham BC

Mairi McBain: Moderator

Community Pastor in Hartlepool

Rev Tony Ruddle

Member of Whitley Bay BC

Rev Caroline Friend: Mission Link

Co-Minister at Alnwick BC


Jen Holder: CYF Link

Associate Pastor of New Life BC


Rev Rachel Holland: Justice Link

Community Minister at Portrack BC

Amanda .jpg

Amanda Hegarty: CYF Link 

Member West View BC


Rev Phil Dixon

Minister Oxford Road BC

Rev Roy Searle

Home Mission Rep


Rev Linda Donaldson 

Regional Minister

Johnny Pozzo.jpeg

Rev Johnny Pozzo

Regional Minister


Clare Cockerill

Administrator & Company Secretary

Paul Knight.jpg

Rev Paul Knight

Member of Heaton Baptist Church

Get Involved or Contact Us

If you would like to get involved with association life then please do get in touch with us.

We are always seeking to find those who can serve as Trustees, click here for more information and to download an application form

You can also contact the Moderator of the Council Mairi McBain via email here 

And the Treasurer of the Association Gavin Monument via email here

bottom of page